With all my heart and all my soul

I posted this from an amazing book I am reading on facebook yesterday ….

“Fear. It’s part of human nature, but it’s not something we got from God. Second Timothy 1: 7 says: “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” When I imagine God creating each one of us and planting a purpose deep in our hearts, I never imagine that purpose being mediocrity. While the Bible doesn’t tell every person on earth specifically what his or her life’s calling will be, it does include a lot of general direction:

“You are to find me in the least of these.” Yes.

“You are to leave your earthly possessions and come follow me.” Yes.

“You are to love and serve the Lord God with all your heart and love your neighbor as yourself.” Yes.

“You are to go and make disciples of all nations.” Yes.

“You are to entertain strangers and lepers and tax collectors.” Yes.

“You are to show mercy.” Yes.

“You are to live a life of mediocrity and abundance, holding on tight to your comfortable lifestyle, lest you lose it.” No.”

These words pierce my heart. They speak to a place deep inside me. They are truth. They are for me.

Sometimes I wonder if I am driving people crazy with all this talk of ‘loving your neighbor as yourself’ and ‘leave your earthly possessions and follow me (Jesus).’ I would be driving me crazy. I might would block me from my facebook feed like I do those people who tell everyone what are having for lunch every single day. But I can’t help it. I honestly don’t think everyone should sell everything they own and move to some third world country to serve God. I just think maybe that is what I am suppose to do. Until then I pray God keeps my eyes and heart open to the opportunities to be a missionary right where I am and I pursue those opportunities on purpose (thanks friend).

“I don’t think so. “Mediocrity and abundance” aren’t there. However, mediocrity and abundance, comfort and ease, do seem to be safe choices for many people, myself included. In stark contrast, leaving our possessions, following Jesus when we don’t have a well-defined plan, and entertaining strangers— well, that does sound a little scary. But what if, just beyond that risk, just beyond the fear is a life better than anything we have ever imagined: life to the fullest.”

Clark, Beth; Davis, Katie J. (2011-10-04). Kisses from Katie (p. 101). Simon & Schuster, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Psalm 139:23

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With all my heart and all my soul

  1. Mandi says:

    You know what’s funny… I used this same verse from my lesson today with the women… about not being given a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power. I had a whole other lesson all planned out. But then I felt convicted about something and changed everything at the last minute.

    That something happened to be yesterday, when I went to visit a young village woman, who always comes to church and the Bible studies. I think she is the youngest of our group… 24 maybe… She is pregnant with her 3rd child and I had heard that her husband had beat her again. I knew of her because I was told that before we got here, her husband had beaten her so bad that she almost died. When I went to check on her yesterday, she was speaking for a long time in her language… occasionally crying, sometimes smiling, and sometimes very expressive. Afterward, another woman translated some of what she was saying. She also translated what some of the other women there were saying as well. One thing was that, at night, a large black bird, as big as a man, comes to the village. They called it a vampire. My immediate reaction was to say… “Vampires are not real!” And she proceeded to say, “No Sister they said it has long hair and one of them holds up a crucifix when it comes around.” But I discounted it and said it wasn’t real…

    But the more I thought about it, and after talking with another Christian mentor about it, I felt wrong for doing that. Even when she was telling me… I thought about a demon but I pushed the thought away, which I am very good at doing. I have never seen a demon! Do I believe they’re real? Yes. Could they actually be seeing a demon? As much as I don’t want to believe they are, I can’t call them liars and discount what they tell me!

    So…

    I apologized at the women’s group today and gave them scripture on how to deal with a demon. This verse was one of them.

    Demons! I feel so inadequate as a missionary. From the time I was little and understood what missionaries were… I pictured them as very knowledgeable, plain looking, quiet, a little strange, and completely selfless.

    I am far from knowledgeable. I like my makeup. I am quiet though, and possibly a little strange. 🙂 But selfless… I have a long way to go…

    Anyway… I just wanted you to know what happened with me and that verse today… and I wanted you to know that I read all your posts and they all made me smile. I love your thoughts… I love the truth behind them… 🙂

    Miss and love you!

    • Chris & Trish says:

      What an amazing story! I cannot even imagine what your everyday life must be like. I read your blog and I am left speechless at the end of every post – I have nothing to say to what you are experiencing. I know nothing about it at all. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog – I know I am rambling and all over the place 🙂 I want you to know that I was talking to Chesica the other day and she said she saw the picture I put up of you on facebook and what you and John are doing is the definition of selflessness. It does not matter that you don’t know everything there is to know about the bible – no one else does either they just pretend like they do – what you are living everyday is the definition of selflessness. We all see it. We are all thankful for the example. Give yourself a break sister – you are doing it and I am so very proud of you!! Miss you and love you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

