Move

“the purpose of life is to discover your gift.
the meaning of life is giving your gift away.” ~Katie Davis

I was talking to my missionary friends, John and Mandi, on Skype one night. They told me about M. M is a mother who is missing an eye because she is a failed abortion attempt. She tried to sell her daughter to a white missionary for $20. Not because she is a bad mother. Because she is a desperate mother that can not feed her children. She knew her daughter would have enough to eat with the white missionary and with the $20 she would be able to feed her other children.

My thoughts have been consumed with M.

I can’t even watch those end of the world apocalyptic movies Chris likes because when they get to to point of no food being in the grocery stores, I shut down. I cannot imagine a world that my babies come to me for food and I cannot feed them. This is the worst thing I can imagine ever happening to me. At night I lay in my comfortable bed, with my full belly, and cannot stop the tears for this woman that I don’t know.

My heart breaks for her.

And that is when I start to pray for things that really matter. That is when I stop thinking of myself. That is when I start to really love.  A love I can’t explain. A love that does not make any sense. The kind of love Jesus gives me everyday. The kind that says move. Now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

